2012: The Elie Wiesel Foundation Prize in Ethics; summer scholarship to Harvard University; The City of San Antonio’s Man of the Year.

2013: The James F. Parker Prize in Fiction

2014: Churchill Fellowship; Role Model at the Elie Wiesel Foundation Tomorrow’s Leaders Summit in Dublin.

2015: The David Nathan Meyerson Prize in Fiction awarded by The Southwest Review.

2017: Taliesin Nexus MFA Scholarship.

2016-17, 2018-19: University Fellow at Syracuse University.